Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 12th, 2010

After daily routine of blogging, I tried not to write for two days. It felt weird. Before creating this blog I was scared of writing. Petrified even!. My main problem was whether I would be able to put my views across, especially in writing form. I would fuss over the smallest of details: “What if I don’t makes sense?, what if people laugh at my writing style?, what will I write about?”. Making a blog never featured in my plans due to these reason, but I made this blog on a spur of the moment. A lapse in my fears you could say. And when I did start writing, topics came up, my views found words, and surprisingly I started posting something every day (well at least for 5 days straight), hence not writing for a couple of days felt kinda….off.

Anyways as I was flicking channels yesterday I found myself stopping at News One. The talk show ‘Karavan’ was coming on hosted by the always articulate Faisal Qureshi and his very opinionated and fiery wife. The guest was a woman who was a victim of female battery and hence was the topic of the show. The guest was talking about how she overcame the abuse, and despite the pressures of our society broke free of the abuser and started her life anew. I was smitten by this lady. In our society any woman pulling off such a daring move is branded very readily as a “bad woman” (buri aurat), but this lady didn’t give a damn and took a chance at peace for herself and her kids. How many women do that?. Usually they are scared of what the society will say (zamana kiya kahee ga), they prefer to lead a life of degrading abuse rather than to stand up to brutish males.

But this blog isn’t about singing praise of women who don’t take crap but rather due to the agitation I felt when this caller said that our society is the best and when such cases rear their ugly heads, it shouldn’t be made an outstanding case, as blaming such exception on our ‘beautiful’ society was wrong. I was stunned. I was literally screaming at my TV set on the ignorant and totally senseless comments of this caller. Fine there are a couple of things of our Pakistani society which are blatantly better than any western ones such as having religious values (well at least a bit of it) or family values for that matter. But sadly THATS ABOUT IT!. Our society is riddled by problems ranging from corruption (we all know about that Mr.President!), lack of sensitivity, having sanctity for human lives, the ‘jazba’ to help Allah’s creations or the treatment of women (let me make one thing clear, this has nothing to do with Islam, just our society’s folly). It not as bad in our literate populace, but amongst the illiterate mass its down right criminal. Physical abuse, sexual abuse or honour killings make for sad readings.

But anybody who truly believes that our society is fine, is a delusional fool and a jackass. We have problems and a lot of them. And as soon as such people realize this, the sooner we can find solutions. Images of grandeur should be put on hold till this society is made to find its feet. What really makes me a sad bunny is that this country was made on the back of more 50,000 sacrifices, but we as a nation have let those sacrifices go to waste. Heres hoping we don’t rue it!

Wow, even without realizing it I have written more than 500 lines but heres me ending wrapping with a little update. Just on the last stretch of Heavy Rain and InshaAllah will be finishing off this thriller of a game today.

Read Full Post »